The New England College Transfer Guarantee

Learn about NEBHE's New England College Transfer Guarantee program and recent expansion, what states participate, who is eligible, why it's beneficial, and how to apply.
Student learning about The New England College Transfer Guarantee

Recently, the New England Board of Education (NEBHE) announced an expansion of the New England College Transfer Guarantee. Of course, we had to learn more about this expansion and refresh ourselves on the basics about this valuable program, so we reached out to Emily Decatur, the Associate Director of the Transfer Initiatives & Regional Student Program for NEBHE. In our interview below, we discuss the program, who participates, eligibility, benefits and more about this fantastic opportunity for students in the Commonwealth.

SC: Can you tell me about the program?

ED: NEBHE has partnered with community colleges, state public higher education systems, independent college associations, and four-year institutions to establish the New England College Transfer Guarantee (the Guarantee), an admission transfer guarantee, in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island. The Guarantee is currently funded by the Teagle Foundation and Davis Educational Foundation

The initiative is modeled on state transfer policy and offers associate degree holders who have met the GPA eligibility criteria guaranteed admission into participating four-year independent institutions, with a focus on the liberal arts. Additional features of the Guarantee include an application fee waiver, financial aid and scholarship incentives, and full transfer of associate degree credits. 

The Guarantee is fully implemented in both Connecticut and Massachusetts, with Rhode Island slated for the Fall of 2021. In Connecticut, nine independent institutions, along with the state's 12 community colleges, have signed Memorandums of Agreement (MOAs). In Massachusetts, 20 independent institutions to date, as well as the state's 15 community colleges, have signed MOAs. In Rhode Island two institutions have signed MOAs and additional institutions are expected to sign onto the agreement soon. Additional institutions are expected to join and are welcome to sign on to the agreement at any time. 

What states participate?

The Guarantee is fully implemented in both Connecticut and Massachusetts, with Rhode Island slated for the Fall of 2021.

Who is eligible?

We have the following eligibility criteria:

  1. Associate degree from an in-state community college
  2. Qualifying GPA
  • CT: 2.0, 2.5, or 3.0 (depending on the school)
  • MA: 2.5
  • RI: 2.0, 2.4, 3.0 (depending on the school)

Note: The Guarantee is a state-specific initiative

How does it benefit students?

Benefits and features of the Guarantee include:

  • No application fee 
  • Guaranteed admission
  • Guaranteed transfer of credits
  • Institutional transfer of student scholarships and other financial incentives (varies by college)
  • General Education courses transfer as a block (MA and CT)
  • Transfer Ticket Pathways (CT)

How do students apply?

Eligible students should apply through each institution's webpage. There is no application for the Guarantee itself, and eligibility is automatic. 

What are the details of the recent expansion?

In July 2021, NEBHE was awarded an eight-month planning grant from the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations and the Teagle Foundation to begin scaling the Guarantee to Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. NEBHE is collaborating with state partners to determine the feasibility of expansion and develop a strategic plan to streamline and unify transfer for both in-state public and independent colleges and universities.

For more information about the New England College Transfer Guarantee, visit their webpage here.

Learn more about the New England College Transfer Guarantee